Back to Smartcitizen.me

Sensors failing simultaneously

Hi everybody,

I am running a network of 12 sensors for our project #viadukaduk. Now and then sensors fail simultaneously. I was wondering if you ever experienced this too and was it linked to in your opinion:

• weather conditions
  • magnetic storms

• ?

Greets,
Bron

What patterns (such as geographical location) can you observe in the failure s ?

Check #viadukaduk on the map or lawaai.viadukaduk.be: It’s a monitoring project we run on sck 2.1 since april 2020.

The sensors are all located within about a kilometer circle and sometimes fail simultaneously - within minutes of each other.

That sounds bizarre. It’s hard to rule out a common cause in such circumstances.

Possibilities include spikes on the mains supply (assuming they are connected).
Is lightning out of the question ?

I’ll tell you a story from my past. I was a technician working for the main Telecom Company in Australia; in Darwin. Darwin is a tropical area; with high rainfall. The soil has been leached of salts making it low conductivity.
Whilst lightning often saw failures of equipment by way of ground strikes; sometimes failures would occur when there appears to be no clouds around. What happened was that high voltage power transmission lines sometimes fall to the ground; causing a spike in ground potential in that area. And equipment failed because of it. HVAC travelled up the telecom earth wire and into our equipment; looking for a low impedance path to earth potential!

We also saw failures of equipment several days after a storm. A spike during the storm caused electrical stress; but actual device failure occurred later.

Another possibility is batch failures of electronic components. If the boards are made from a batch of components sometimes they can all have the same weakness; and fail at a similar age. But not normally in the same short time interval. It’s unheard of; making me more certain it’s likely to be an external agent.